Kairali Youth Fest 2017


Read in Malayalam..     മലയാളത്തില്‍ വായിക്കാന്‍

After few months of preparations, rigorous practice sessions and rehearsals, KAIRALI YOUTH FEST 2017, organized by KKS in association with Infosys Foundation and Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan concluded with a high voltage mega show on Sunday, 18th June at Birla Academy. The distribution of “Kairali Pratibha Puraskar” and Certificates for all the participants were also done at the programme.

This was the first time, a platform specifically intended to unearth young talents among the malayalee community in Kolkata was provided. The selection of performers were done on the basis of two rounds of auditions. The mega show also gave an opportunity to those who performed well in the audition rounds. More than 30 participants in all, gave a splendid display of dance and music with all the energy of youth to give the audience a visual treat lasting about two and half hours.

The programme opened with “Bhaashavandanam” by Anjali Nair, Meenakshi Sreekumar and Chaithanya Gopalan.

Raagadalam”, the musical segment was directed and led by Srinath Nair, Samil Sikkaani and Sidhaarth. In the event, which was essentially a show of youth power, Tushar and Vijitha Vijayan donned the presenters’ role. “Laasyadalam”, the dance segment showcased colorful performances in Bharatnatyam, Mohiniyattam, Oppana, Folk dance and Western Dance as well.

In the concluding part of the event, Participation Certificates were distributed to more than 80 participants in the auditions and performance rounds. Sri Sivasankaran, representing Infosys Foundation and Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Smt Bhagavathy Ashok, representing the Judges of audition rounds, Sri Rajeev Nair, Member Kolkata Kairali Samajam Trust and Sri P V Venugopalan, President, KKS presented the Certificates and “Kairali Prathibha Puraskar”. Sri T Ajayakumar, Secretary, KKS presented the vote of thanks.

List of recipients of Kairali Prathibha Puraskar:

  1. Rithwika Nair – Music
  2. A Aravind – Music
  3. Shreya Abraham – Music
  4. Chaithanya Gopalan – Music
  5. Mahesh L Nair – Music
  6. Meera Manikandan – Bharathnatyam
  7. Aavani Asokan – Bharathnatyam
  8. Aparna Pillai – Bharthnatyam
  9. Anjali Nair – Bharthnatyam
  10. Sonali Menon – Mohiniyattam

These are the performers who joined them on stage….

Sreelakshmi Mohandas, Meenaksi Sreekumar, Anagha Nair, Ashwini Ashokan, Surabhi Sureshan, Devika Muraleedharan, Sneha Sivasankaran, Jyothi Radhakrishnan, Swetha Pavithran, Shruthi S Kumar, Nikki Nambiar, Vijitha Vijayan, Jahnavi Kiran, Aakash Leena Prakash,  Amritha Prakash, Devika Prakash, Smrithi Sureshan….